Writing for a New Blog!

Hiiiiii folkssss. So I got a few calls this past weekend. The first was from my professor. This is how the conversation went….

Prof: “Hi Peyton, I wanted to discuss your final project.”

Me: “Yes, I realized I was the only one who didn’t get their’s back. Is there a problem?” (thought process…OH SHIT)

Prof: “No, I entered your collection into a costume and fashion design exhibit.” (thought process THANK FUCKING GOD)

Soooo, that is the first part of my update. I will upload pics of the sketches after the exhibit! Part deux….I started writing for ANOTHER website. I know, I’m crazy. I barely have time to write for my own blog, let alone a third one. So, I want you all to check out The Campus Style, a blog featuring fashion/music/art insight from students all over the country. I published my first post today! and here it is….

With every season comes trends…that’s a no brainer…but what about nail polish? With fashion trends come nail trends (remember OPI’s Lincoln Park After Dark, Chanel’s Black Satin, Essie’s Chinchilly and of course- Minx). Many stick to the basics- brights for spring/summer, darks for fall/winter and nudes year round, but those of us “in the know” realize it is all about ditching the typical colors of the season and trading them in for the unexpected.

Let’s all take notes from Rumi of fashion toast for this seasons nail must-haves.

Grey

A DEFINTE must: All shades will work: Cement, Charcoal, Heather..whatever!

Rumi is wearing Essie’s Great Expectations.

Also Try: Zoya’s Harley, Grey #1 by Urban Outfitters or American Apparel’s Factory Grey

White

Rumi is wearing Jizz by Bleach Black. Raunchy name=great results.

Also Try: OPI’s Pearl of Wisdom or A-ha! Moment by Sephora

Note: There’s a trick when it comes to whites. Avoid a strictly solid white color, unless you like the whole “I used Whiteout to paint my nails” look. Instead use a pearly white, off white or ivory.

Lavender

Very girly and cute! A perfect substitute for the typical bubble gum pink.

Rumi is wearing Sally Hansen in Commander in Chic. Killer Miu Miu’s Rumi

Also Try: YSL’s Mauve Silk, Done Out in Deco by OPI, Jan by Illamasqua and Essies’s Lilacism

Brown

It is like having chocolate fingernails. (Not recommended for recovering nail biters)

Try: You Don’t Know Jacques by OPI (matte), Sally Hansen’s Boca Mocha or Mocha by Sephora

For Kicks and Giggles: Other Shades to Try

Mint Green: Mint Candy Apple by Essie, Liberty by Knock Out Cosmetics, Milf by Illamasqua and Jade Green by Chanel

Peach: Inattendu by Chanel, Matte Orange #4 by Urban Outfitters and Tart Deco by Essie

Don’t be afraid to try Matte and Suede polishes. It may be hard to get used to the unique finish at first, but it is definitely worth the wait.


2 Comments on “Writing for a New Blog!”

  1. chrisrc says:

    I’m so glad you wrote this- I have been looking for grey nail polish everywhere. 🙂 Great suggestions, and wonderful fashion!

  2. Landon says:

    you know what that means…. you are killing it


Leave a Reply

